UHS Student Council Earns Gold Council of Excellence Award

Uxbridge High School Student Council

Earns Gold Council of Excellence Award


Uxbridge High School Principal Michael Rubin is proud to announce that the UHS Student Council was awarded the Gold Council of Excellence Award this past week at the MASC State Conference in Hyannis.

“Every year, the number of ways that our Council serves this community is incredible,” Mr. Rubin said. “I am so very proud of our students, their work, their selflessness, and their commitment to Uxbridge.”

The Excellence Award is a project that we work on throughout the school year, with the submission of the binder being due on February 1st. There are 50 indicators that are required to achieve this award. To be awarded the Gold Council of Excellence Award, a council needs to achieve between 46 and 50 points. UHS’ binder is then reviewed by an adult panel from the Massachusetts Association of Student Council (MASC). Indicators range from governance, Special Olympics, charities, service, student voice, evaluation and feedback, fundraising, civic based activities and various others.

Our council works hard all year to be the best we can be, giving back to our school and community. Achieving this award is a testament to all the work done throughout the year. Our executive board works to put together the binder, but it is our whole council that does the work that we can document in this binder.

Mrs. Bernard, the Chapter Advisor, shared that she is "proud of our members for all they do to help those in need, to lead by example, and to learn how to be better leaders through all they do." 

“The work would not be possible without the tremendous effort, organizational skills, and passion of a great advisor and set of chapter officers,” Mr. Rubin added. “Ms. Bernard, President Nick DiLibero, and the entire Council should be very proud.”

Student Council Members are: 

Martha-Ann Rolandelli, Kelsey Prince, Meriam Abdel-Nour, Cecelia Schleinitz, Sonila Murati, Elena Franzosa, Caroline Adam, Sam Lapointe, Kevin Siefken, Tyler Washington, Joseph Bernard, Nicholas DiLibero, Matthew Stark, Elias Roerden, Jackson Haker