UHS Girls Basketball Earns Regional Sportsmanship Award

Uxbridge High School Principal Michael Rubin and Athletic Director Chris Carbone are proud to announce that the UHS Girls Basketball team has earned the 2019-20 Sportsmanship Award as given by the International Association of Approved Basketball Officials Board 208. One girls team and one boys team from the more than 100 schools in the region earns the award, and UHS joins the Nipmuc boys in receiving the award this year.

“This is a great honor and I want to personally congratulate the team for displaying great sportsmanship and for being a great role model for all teams,” said Paul Greenberg, the President of Board 208 of the IAABO.

“When we think of the characteristics we wish to see in our Spartans, the tenets of sportsmanship certainly are at the top of our list,” said Mr. Rubin. “In that spirit, awards like this truly typify what we mean when we talk about Spartan Pride, and I am so very proud of the team and the coaches for not only taking steps on the court in terms of the X’s and O’s, but also as opponents, teammates, and coaches."

The team will be recognized on Friday, March 13, 2020 @ 6:00pm at The Hoboken Citizens Club in Milford, where Board 208 of the IAABO will be hosting its annual banquet to celebrate our basketball officials on another great season.  During this banquet, the board will be honoring the two  basketball teams receiving this award and will be awarding both teams with sportsmanship banners. 

“When Uxbridge fans and visitors go into the High School gymnasium, they’ll see a cool new banner displayed on the wall,” said Mr. Greenberg. “It’s a special banner that signifies that the girls’ varsity basketball team received a great award.”

“We are thrilled to receive this important honor and award,” said Head Coach Jeff LaCure. “The coaching staff emphasized over and over again that for the Uxbridge girls basketball program, we do it the right way, every day.  This prestigious award is a beautiful acknowledgment of that philosophy and practice. So incredibly proud of the girls, the team and the program.”

“Our Spartans worked hard all season, represented the ‘U’ incredibly well, and definitely deserve this honor,” said Mr. Carbone. “We appreciate the board of officials for recognizing our team, our coaches, and our program as a whole.”

Members of the Team: Kathryn Cahill, Chloe Kaeller, Sarah Johnston, Brenna Neill, Ashley Dube, Alexandra Wojciechowski, Ella Correa, Katie Cullen, Grace Orr, Tessa Johnston, Sydney Bretana, Head Coach Jeff LaCure and Assistant Coach Lynn Lopez.